DAD’S DAY

With Father’s Day right around the corner, we thought we’d take a minute to give all of you Dad’s a big thumbs up! We’re starting by celebrating one great Dad from Victoria…

Derrick Olive is a ripper of a Dad. He’s a 47-year-old truckie from Kyabram in Victoria and is a single parent, caring for his three teenage boys. This legend is doing everything he can to look after his boys, making sure they grow up into good blokes, including 5am wake up calls to get on the road to work and phoning home from the road to make sure the boys are up and at ‘em! Derrick is, without a doubt, a Dad doing great things!

What’s life like as a Truckie?
It’s good! I’ve been doing it for 23 years now. I used to do interstate work but now I’m working locally. I leave early in the morning and get home at night, which is great. I’m transporting milk, so I head to farms to pick up the cartons and drop them into the factory.

What’s one thing you absolutely need while on the job?
Probably my phone, and if I’m listening to music it can be anything from ACDC to country.

Tell us about your three lads!
I have three boys, they’re aged 18, 17 and 14. My 18-year-old is studying at TAFE full time, my 17-year-old is working full time and my 14-year-old is in school.  The middle one seems to be leaning towards a truck driving career, I’d say. He spent a lot of time with me in the truck when he was younger!

Derrick and his 3 boys

 

What’s the best thing about having three sons?
I don’t think there is a best thing! I love everything about it, so I don’t know I could pick one great thing.

What’s the most challenging thing about having three sons?
Having three sons (laughs)! We have arguments, as you do, but them growing up too quickly is probably the worst thing. Although, my 18-year-old can come for a beer with me now, or go and grab beer for me, which is great (laughs)!

What’s an average day like, juggling work, the kids and the rest?
I’m up at 4 or 5am and then I’ll go and get the truck and head off for work. I’ll give the boys a ring to make sure they wake up and are getting ready for the day. Normally I’ll get home at 5 or 6pm and the boys will have dinner happening or have the washing on, which helps a lot. Then I’ll throw them into bed and get ready to do it all again!

What’s a favourite meal in your house, if the boys are helping with the cooking?
Steak!

What’s something you’d like to say to other single Dad’s?
Just do what you’ve got to do, no matter what the circumstances. They’re your kids and you’ve been dealt a hand, so deal with it and move on.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *